Past Awardees

In 2002 PODER magazine created the PODER Awards to celebrate excellence in leadership in the Americas. In partnership with The Americas Business Council Foundation we identify and award best practices in the region in social entrepreneurship, business innovation, sustainability, courageousness, vision and corporate responsibility, that are producing systemic change in their own communities.

Fernando Cardoso – Ex president of Brazil | Poder Hemispheric Leader Award

Ricky Martin – President and Founder, Ricky Martin Foundation | Poder Social Leadership Award

Wendy Kopp – CEO and Co-Founder, Teach For All | Poder Outstanding Citizenship Award

Monica Lozano – CEO, Impremedia LLC | Poder Lifetime Achievement Award

Richard Muller – Berkeley Physics Professor | Poder Courage Award

Lorena Garcia – Chef, Restauranteur, TV Host and Published Author | Poder Women in Leadership Award

Alejandro Marti – President and Founder of Mexico SOS | Poder Social Entrepreneurship  award

  • Alberto Ibargüen President, John S. and James L. Knight Foundation
  • Daniel Servitje President, Bimbo
Pedro Heilbron Chairman, Aerolinea Copa
Roberto Hernandez Chairman of the Board, Grupo Financiero Banamex
  • Gustavo Cisneros Chairman and CEO, Grupo Cisneros
  • Carlos De La Cruz Chairman and CEO, Eagle Brands, Inc.
  • Marcelo Claure CEO, Brightstar Corporation
  • Bill Drayton Chairman and Founder, Ashoka
Juan Beckman Founder, Casa Cuervo
  • Carlos Ghosn President and CEO, Nissan Motor Co., Ltd.
  • Mauricio Novis Botelho President and CEO, Embraer
  • Maria Asuncion Aramburuzabala Chairman of the Board, Tresalia Capital
  • Claudio X. Gonzalez Chairman and CEO, Kimberly Clark, Mexico
  • Jorge Perez President, The Related Group of Florida
  • Daniel Lamarre CEO, Cirque Du Soleil
  • Andronico Luksic CEO, APEC (Chile)
  • George Feldenkreis President, Perry Ellis International
  • Don and Mera Rubell The Rubell Collection
  • Alvaro Saieh President, Copesa
Juan Esteban Aristizabal “Juanes”
Andres Jaramillo Founder & Prime Minister, Andres Carne de Res
  • Felipe Berrios Founder, Un Techo Para Mi Pais
  • Emilio Estefan Chief Executive Officer and Founder, Estefan Enterprises
  • Peter Kellner Founder Endeavor
  • Alejandro Ramirez CEO, Cinepolis
Moises Naim Former Editor in Chief of Foreign Policy
  • Ricardo Lagos Former President of Chile
  • Mana Most popular Latin American Rock Band and founders of Selva Negra Foundation
  • Alberto Aleman Presidente canal de Panama
  • Jorge Alberto Velez Cementos Argos
  • Stephan Schmidheiny Chairman Avina Foundation

Salvador Paiz – President and CEO of Teculutan Investments and President of FunSepa | Poder Visionary Award

Jaime Cohen Szulc – President of the Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company, Latin American Region | Poder Innovation Award

Bjarke Ingels – Founder BIG Bjarke Ingels Group | Poder Designer of the Year Award

Jesus Aguais – Human Rights activist and Founder of AID FOR AIDS International | Poder Humanitarian Award

Catalina Escobar Restrepo – Community Crusader | Poder Social Empowerment Award

Ana Arrigunaga – President Fundacion Quiera | Poder Social Achievements Award


Presented by:
Greenberg Traurig   Televisa MTV Univision